To access this element change to forms mode OFF

Closed Grant Opportunity View - GO5149

Specialist Training Program 2022-2025

Contact Details

Health Grants Team

02 6289 5600


Department of Health
Close Date & Time:
21-Oct-2021 2:00 pm (ACT Local Time)
Show close time for other time zones
Internal Reference ID:
Primary Category:
191002 - Higher Education
Publish Date:
Selection Process:
Closed Non-Competitive

FO Reference:


The Specialist Training Program (STP) extends vocational training for non-GP specialist registrars into settings outside traditional metropolitan teaching hospitals including regional, rural and remote communities and private health facilities. It aims to:

  • improve the quality of the future specialist workforce by providing registrars with exposure to a broader range of healthcare settings known as “expanded settings”; and
  • have a positive influence on future workforce distribution.

STP is the Commonwealth’s main platform for influencing the development of the non-GP specialist workforce. The program aims to improve access to specialist medical services for Australians with funding delivered through the thirteen specialists medical colleges (see below) to deliver the following elements:

  • Specialist training posts and support - core program
  • STP-Integrated Rural Training Pipeline – rural dedicated places
  • Tasmanian Project – support to strengthen the Tasmanian medical training system
  • Emergency Medical Educational Training Program
  • STP Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists (formerly within the General Practitioner Procedural Training Support Program)

This grant funding round supports the delivery of non-GP specialist training across four calendar years from 2022-2025 through a closed, non-competitive (non-application form) approach to market.

To view the Grant Opportunity Guidelines, please select the red "GO Documents" button on the left hand side.


The STP is implemented through thirteen (13) specialist medical colleges. The Colleges are:

  • Australasian College of Dermatologists
  • Australasian College for Emergency Medicine
  • Australasian College of Sport and Exercise Physicians
  • Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists
  • College of Intensive Care Medicine of Australian and New Zealand
  • Royal Australasian College of Medical Administrators
  • Royal Australasian College of Physicians
  • Royal Australasian College of Surgeons
  • Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists
  • Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Ophthalmologists
  • Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists
  • Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Radiologists
  • Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia
Total Amount Available (AUD):


Instructions for Application Submission:

An application form is not required to be submitted for this grant opportunity. 

Other Instructions:


Contact Details

Health Grants Team

02 6289 5600